Wyoming Hit and Run Laws

Under Wyoming’s title 31, “Accidents,” you are guilty of a misdemeanor if you leave the scene of an accident without fulfilling statutory obligations. However, if the victim suffers serious injury or death, the hit and run driver can be convicted of a felony. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident in Wyoming: You must … Read more

Wisconsin Hit and Run Laws

Yes. If you leave the scene of an accident without exchanging information and rendering reasonable assistance, you are guilty of a misdemeanor if the accident involves property damage or a felony if anyone dies or suffers serious injuries. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident in Wisconsin Wisconsin hit-and-run laws provide five affirmative defenses … Read more

West Virginia Hit and Run Laws

Erin’s Law, or West Virginia hit and run laws section 17C-4-1 states that leaving the scene of an accident without fulfilling statutory obligations makes you guilty of a felony or misdemeanor depending on the damage done. Quick take: West Virginia hit and run laws: You must report any accident that results in death, injury, or … Read more

Washington Hit and Run Laws

The punishment for leaving the scene of an accident/hit and run in Washington is up to 90 days in jail for misdemeanor offenses. In addition, if the victim dies, the hit and run driver risks felony charges punishable by up to 10 years in prison plus a $20000 fine. Quick take: Leaving the scene of … Read more

Virginia Hit and Run Laws

In Virginia, it is unlawful to leave the scene of an accident without fulfilling the obligations listed in Virginia code section 46.2-896. You are guilty of a misdemeanor if the accident results in property damage and a felony if anyone dies or suffers serious bodily injury. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident in … Read more

Vermont Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident in Vermont without fulfilling statutory obligations may result in felony or misdemeanor charges. In addition, the penalty could be anywhere from two to fifteen years in prison. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident in Vermont You have 72 hours to report a reportable accident. You must report … Read more

Wisconsin Child Support Laws

Wisconsin child support laws aim to ensure that upkeep laws are enforced, and no child suffers economic hardship from divorce or separation or the lack of a paternity establishment. That is according to the state’s department of social services.  However, in practice, these laws may, in some scenarios, be ‘unfair’ to one parent.  For example, … Read more

West Virginia Child Support Laws

West Virginia child support laws according to chapter 48.  Domestic Relations.  Aim to “improve and facilitate support enforcement in this state, with the primary goal being to establish and enforce reasonable child support orders and thereby improve opportunities for children”. To some parents paying child support in the state, the amount they pay monthly in … Read more

Wyoming Child Support Laws

Wyoming child support laws, article 3-20-2-30, states quote, “the court shall enter orders, temporary or otherwise, pursuant and in compliance with this article for maintenance of children in actions for paternity, support, and any other action for the maintenance or support of children.” What that means is child support is a legal obligation for both … Read more

Texas Hit and Run Laws

In Texas, you are guilty of a class B misdemeanor if you leave the scene of an accident involving property damage above $200. If the accident involves death or serious injury, you are guilty of a third-degree felony if you leave the scene without fulfilling statutory obligations. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident … Read more