New Jersey Hit and Run Laws

The penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey is up to 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $5000. In addition, if anyone suffers injury or death, a hit-and-run becomes a felony. Quick take: leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey Stopping and rendering aid is a … Read more

New Jersey Sexting Laws

New Jersey sexting laws aim to protect sexting teens from the state’s harsh pornography laws and punish sexual predators. Before 2012, upon conviction for sending or receiving inappropriate images, teens had to register as sex offenders and serve time. Quick take New Jersey sexting diversion program only applies to first time offenders. New Jersey sexting … Read more

New Jersey Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws of New Jersey

A Summary of New Jersey Whistleblower Laws The state of New Jersey follows the employment-at-will doctrine. This means employees in New Jersey can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, the state has several exceptions to this rule that are used to protect employees. They include statutory protections and common law … Read more

New Jersey Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of New Jersey

Everything you need to know about New Jersey child support laws, updated for 2020. New Jersey child support laws place the responsibility of providing food, clothes, and a safe place to live to a child on the parents. These laws, according to the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), apply to parents whether married … Read more

New Jersey Car Seat Laws

Car Seat Laws in New Jersey

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in New Jersey The law requires children under age 2 who weigh less than 30 pounds to be secured in a rear-facing child safety seat. The law requires children younger than 4 years who weigh less than 40 pounds and have outgrown rear-facing seats to be secured in … Read more

New Jersey Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitations laws as they apply to the state of New Jersey

Statute of Limitations NJ- Summary New Jersey’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of … Read more

New Jersey Recording Laws

New Jersey Recording Law

New Jersey Recording Law Summary: Is New Jersey a One Party Consent State? New Jersey recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In New Jersey, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share communications, whether they are oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one … Read more