Lemon Laws in the United States

United States Lemon Laws by State

United States Lemon Laws protect US citizens from the purchase of a bad vehicle. Find out about your local Lemon Laws by selecting a state below.

Used Car Lemon Laws by State

Only 6 of the 50 states have a used car lemon law. They vary by vehicle type, odometer readings, age and length. Make sure to visit your states lemon law above to find out more in detail.

  • Hawaii Used Vehicle Lemon Law:90 days/ 5000 miles warranty, only for vehicles with fewer than 25,000 miles
  • Massachusetts: 90 days/3750 mile warranty, only for vehicles with few than 40,000 miles
  • Minnesota: 60 day/2500 mile warranty, only for vehicles with less than 36000 miles
  • New Jersey: 90 day/4000 mile warranty, only for vehicles with less than 24000 miles
  • New York:90 day/4000 mile warranty, only for vehicles with less than 36000 miles
  • Rhode Island: 60 day/3000 mile warranty, only for vehicles with less than 36000 miles

There are other other states with more limited warranties that require a minimum amount of viability. Arizona, New Mexico, Connecticut, Nevada, Maine, Pennsylvania, and Illinois.

There are also 8 states where it is restricted or prohibited to use disclaimers. These states are California, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Oregon, and West Virginia.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *