North Carolina Lemon Laws
North Carolina’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 4 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty vehicle. This law applies to the vehicle throughout its express warranty period, and if the vehicle is still under its warranty period and meets the eligibility criteria as specified by North Carolina’s state laws, the owner of the vehicle can claim their lemon aid and demand the manufacturers to provide them with the necessary reimbursement, in the form of a refund or replacement of the faulty vehicle through arbitration. The repurchase costs will also cover any additional costs the owner underwent while purchasing the vehicle.
North Carolina Lemon Law Time Limits & Eligibility
A vehicle may be eligible under North Carolina’s lemon laws if the owner possesses a motor vehicle that has been used for no more than 12,000 miles or has not been past 1 year old starting from the date on which the vehicle was first delivered upon purchase. The motor vehicle must not be a moped nor a motorized bicycle. Furthermore, the primary purpose of the vehicle should be for transporting people along the highways and roads of North Carolina state.
Nonconforming Conditions of Lemon Law in North Carolina
The manufacturer may only be subject to the lemon law if the vehicle in question had a defect that substantially impairs its value. The defect must not also be due to the vehicle owner’s own negligence or abuse.
North Carolina’s Lemon Law Repairs
Before being able to acquire a lemon aid, the manufacturer must first be given the chance to fix the vehicle. The consumer must first send a written notification detailing the problems of the vehicle and specifying a reasonable length of time. This time must be no longer than 15 days. A consumer may call for a lemon aid if the manufacturer was unable to fix the problem within 15 days, has done repairs that still persist after 4 times, or if it has been out of service for a total of 20 days within the eligibility period.
North Carolina Lemon Law Compensation – Replacement and Repurchase
Once approved, vehicle owners will be entitled to a full refund of the whole purchase value of the vehicle. This value will also include the collateral charges, purchase tax, registration fees and other fees incurred in relation to the process of buying and repairing the vehicle minus a reasonable allowance for mileage use. As for lessees, they will be entitled to the full refund of all the money they paid under the terms of the lease minus the reasonable allowance for mileage use while the lessor will be given a 105% refund of the actual purchase cost 85% of the actual amount paid by the lessee.
North Carolina Lemon Law Used Vehicles
The lemon law of North Carolina only covers brand new vehicles. Thus, owners of used vehicles will not be eligible for a lemon aid even if their vehicle is under 1 year old or has yet to be driven for 12,000 miles.
Other North Carolina Laws
- Murder Sentencing Guidelines – Minimum to Maximum for Every State
- North Carolina Car Seat Laws
- North Carolina Child Support Laws
- North Carolina Hit and Run Laws
- North Carolina Lemon Law
- North Carolina Recording Laws
- North Carolina Sexting Laws
- North Carolina Statute of Limitations
- North Carolina Whistleblower Laws
- North Dakota Child Support Laws