North Dakota Lemon Laws
North Dakota’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 3 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty vehicle. This law applies to the vehicle throughout its express warranty period, and if the vehicle is still under its warranty period and meets the eligibility criteria as specified by North Dakota’s state laws, the owner of the vehicle can claim their lemon aid and demand the manufacturers to provide them with the necessary reimbursement, in the form of a refund or replacement of the faulty vehicle through arbitration. The repurchase costs will also cover any additional costs the owner underwent while purchasing the vehicle.
North Dakota Lemon Law Time Limits & Eligibility
The lemon law of North Dakota requires that vehicles possess a number of qualities in order to be eligible for a lemon aid. Firstly, these vehicles should be meant to transport people through the highways and roads of North Dakota. They must have been sold or leased within the state. For trucks, their gross weight should be no more than 10,000 lbs. All vehicles with a truck chassis should have a seating capacity for four 4 or more passengers.
The eligibility period for the lemon law is within 18 months starting from the date of delivery of the first purchase or within, and 1 year after, the manufacturer’s express warranty period.
Nonconforming Conditions of Lemon Law in North Dakota
A vehicle may only be eligible for a lemon aid only when the problem significantly affects the vehicle’s use, value, or safety. This problem must not be due to the owner’s neglect or abuse.
North Dakota’s Lemon Law Repairs
Before the consumer may file under the lemon law, the manufacturer should first be given sufficient time to fix the problem. In North Dakota, manufacturers may attempt to fix the problem 3 times or have the vehicle out of service for repairs for up to 30 days total. This is after the consumer notifies the manufacturer of the problem beforehand.
Lemon Law Compensation in North Dakota
Under the state’s lemon law, the consumer will be eligible for a refund of the full purchase price of the vehicle, including collateral cost. A reasonable allowance for mileage use will be deducted from the final value. As for lessors, they will be eligible for a refund of the same, including freight cost and accessories, while the lessee will be refunded all payments they have previously sent to the lessor.
North Dakota Lemon Law for Used Vehicles
The lemon law of North Dakota covers used vehicles. However, the eligibility period of used vehicles will depend on the delivery date of the first purchase. Any following owner will then depend on that period.
Other North Dakota Laws