Vital Records Explained: Are birth certificates public records?

According to the United States Census Bureau, birth certificates are public records. But the federal government does not keep files or indexes of birth certificates. Instead, it is up to the states to issue and index birth certificates. Therefore, State law determines who has the authority to access birth certificates. Tip: You may view birth … Read more

South Carolina Hit and Run Laws

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in South Carolina? Under South Carolina hit and run laws, leaving the scene of an accident without fulfilling the requirements under section 56-5-1230 is a felony if anyone suffers death or injury and a misdemeanor if the collision results in property damage. Quick take: … Read more

South Dakota Hit and Run Laws

What happens if you leave the scene of an accident in South Dakota Under chapters 32 to 34 sections 32-32-3 through to 32-34-23, South Dakota hit and run laws; you are guilty of a misdemeanor if you leave the scene of an accident without fulfilling the requirements in section 32-34-3. If anyone suffers injury or … Read more

Rhode Island Hit and Run Laws

Is leaving the scene of an accident a felony in Rhode Island? For a first violation, under section 31-26-1 (death/injury), leaving the scene of an accident in Rhode Island without fulfilling the requirements of section 31-26-3 is a felony punishable by a maximum of ten years in prison and a $5000 fine. If the collision … Read more

Pennsylvania Hit and Run Laws

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in Pennsylvania? A hit and run involving property damage is a misdemeanor of the third degree in Pennsylvania. In addition, if anyone dies or suffers serious injuries, leaving the scene of the accident is a felony. Quick take: leaving the scene of an accident … Read more

Oregon Hit and Run Laws

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in Oregon? Under Oregon’s hit and run laws sections 811.700 through to 811.717, leaving the scene of a traffic collision that results in property damage is a misdemeanor. If anyone dies or suffers an injury, the charges escalate into a felony. In addition, prosecutors … Read more

Oklahoma Hit and Run Laws

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in Oklahoma? Section 47 OS 10-102.1. “Oklahoma hit and run laws” states that if you are involved in a traffic collision resulting in death or injury, leaving the scene without fulfilling the conditions below is a felony punishable by not less than 10 days … Read more

Ohio Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage in Ohio is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail, a maximum fine of $500, and license suspension. In addition, if the victim dies or suffers a serious injury, any driver who flees the scene is guilty of a felony. Quick take: Leaving … Read more

North Dakota Hit and Run Laws

The penalty for leaving the scene of an accident involving injury in North Dakota is up to 360 days in jail plus a maximum fine of $3000. If anyone dies or suffers a serious injury, the charges may escalate into class C felony or class B felony charges if the accident resulted from negligence. Quick … Read more

North Carolina Hit and Run Laws

In North Carolina, an accident becomes a crime if anyone involved leaves the scene without fulfilling statutory obligations. For example, state statute section 20-166 says that you must stop your vehicle immediately after an accident, exchange contact information, and render reasonable assistance to anyone who needs it. Quick take: leaving the scene of an accident … Read more