Missouri Hit and Run Laws

Can you be charged for leaving the scene of an accident in Missouri? Leaving the scene of an accident in Missouri that results in property damage is a misdemeanor. The police may follow you to your home to issue a drug test. And depending on the facts presented -A hit and run may also be … Read more

Missouri Sexting Laws

Quick take: Nude selfies taken by a minor constitute child pornography. Teens and adults convicted of felony child pornography related offenses must register as sex offenders. Each photo or video may constitute a separate offense. Sexting between consenting adults is legal. Missouri felony and misdemeanour chart References: 573.037 “Possession of Child Pornography,” 573.023 “Sexual Exploitation … Read more

Missouri Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower laws as they apply to the state of Missouri

A Summary of Missouri Whistleblower Laws Missouri is an at-will employment state. Therefore, employers can discharge their employees for any reason or no reason. However, employees who have been discharged from work can still seek protection under the state’s common law protections and statutory protections. Common law protections are laws that are created by courts … Read more

Missouri Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of Missouri

Everything you need to know about Missouri child support laws, updated for 2020. Proper understanding of Missouri Child Support Guidelines is essential to all parents in the state in that it helps you identify your rights and obligations. However, gaining knowledge from the State Statutes is bothersome and tedious. But today, we will tell you … Read more

Missouri Car Seat Laws

A summary of child car seat laws in Missouri

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Missouri The AAP recommends children should ride on rear-facing seats for a minimum of 2 years. Children weighing less than 40 pounds or less than 4 years of age are required to use rear-facing or forward-facing seats. The law requires children aged 4-7 years who weigh 40 … Read more

Missouri Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitations MO- Summary Missouri’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Missouri Recording Laws*

Missouri Recording Law Summary: Is Missouri a One Party Consent State? Missouri recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Missouri, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share communications, whether they’re wire or oral, without the consent of at least one contributing party. This means that … Read more