Murder Sentencing Guidelines – Minimum to Maximum for Every State

Skip to State by State Overview of Murder Sentences The minimum and maxiumum sentence for murder varies depending on the jurisdiction and the specific degree or classification of the murder charge. In the United States, for example, minimum sentences can differ significantly among states and even within different degrees of murder (e.g., first-degree, second-degree, and … Read more

Rhode Island Hit and Run Laws

Is leaving the scene of an accident a felony in Rhode Island? For a first violation, under section 31-26-1 (death/injury), leaving the scene of an accident in Rhode Island without fulfilling the requirements of section 31-26-3 is a felony punishable by a maximum of ten years in prison and a $5000 fine. If the collision … Read more

Rhode Island Sexting Laws

Passed in 2011, Rhode Island sexting laws states that teens who create and transmit sexually explicit images of themselves may face charges in family court. Consequently, teens adjudicated for sexting cannot face prosecution under the state’s child pornography laws. The rule does not apply to those who possess or disseminate explicit images of another. Quick … Read more

Rhode Island Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws as they apply to the state of Pennsylvania

A Summary of Rhode Island Whistleblower Laws Rhode Island is an employment-at-will state. This means employees can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, the state has protections that are used to protect employees from wrongful retaliation. Rhode Island does not have a common law protection since the state does not … Read more

Rhode Island Child Support Laws

Everything you need to know about Rhode Island child support laws, updated for 2020. Under Rhode Island Child Support Laws, divorced, separated, or parents, in general, have a legal responsibility to provide upkeep until the child reaches the age of majority. Between now and the time your child turns 18. The needs of your family … Read more

Rhode Island Lemon Law

Lemon Laws as they apply to the state of Rhode Island

Rhode Island Lemon Laws – Summary Rhode Island’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 4 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace … Read more

Rhode Island Car Seat Laws

Car Seat Laws as they pertain to the state of Pennsylvania

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Rhode Island Infants and toddlers under the age of 2 years or those weighing less than 30 pounds should be restrained in a rear-facing seat. The law requires all children 2 years old or older who have exceeded the rear-facing seat’s weight and height limits to ride … Read more

Rhode Island Statute of Limitations

Rhode Island Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitations RI- Summary Rhode Island’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of … Read more

Rhode Island Recording Laws

Rhode Island Recording Law Summary: Is Rhode Island a One Party Consent State? Rhode Island recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Rhode Island, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share use communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at … Read more