Murder Sentencing Guidelines – Minimum to Maximum for Every State

Skip to State by State Overview of Murder Sentences The minimum and maxiumum sentence for murder varies depending on the jurisdiction and the specific degree or classification of the murder charge. In the United States, for example, minimum sentences can differ significantly among states and even within different degrees of murder (e.g., first-degree, second-degree, and … Read more

Tennessee Hit and Run Laws

Tennessee hit and run laws: what happens if you leave the scene of an accident in TN? The penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in Tennessee is up to one year in jail and a $2500 fine for a first offense involving property damage. If the accident results in injury or death, the … Read more

Tennessee Sexting Laws

Refreshed in 2019, § 37-1-1-148 “illegal use of a telecommunication device by a minor.” is the Tennessee sexting law. Under the statute, it is unlawful for teens to possess or disseminate explicit content. Quick take: Tennessee Sexting Laws do not prevent prosecutors from pursuing exploitation of a minor, child pornography, or other charges. Anyone above 18 … Read more

Tennessee Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of Tennessee

Tennessee child support laws allow the court system to enforce upkeep payments through jail time, fines, or criminal contempt charges. The vital question is not how the state enforces child support, but rather what can you do to guarantee that your child gets the emotional and financial support he or she needs for a healthy … Read more

Tennessee Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws as they apply to the state of Tennessee

A Summary of Tennessee Whistleblower Laws Tennessee is an employment-at-will state. This means employees can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, there are a few exceptions to this doctrine that are used to protect employees from wrongful retaliation. These exceptions include common law protections and statutory protections. Statutory protections are … Read more

Tennessee Lemon Law

Lemon Laws as they apply to the state of Tennessee

Summary of Tennessee Lemon Laws Tenn. Code Ann. 55-24-101 through 55-24-112 Tennessee’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 3 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable … Read more

Tennessee Car Seat Laws

Car Seat Laws as they apply to the state of Tennessee

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Tennessee Tennessee law requires all children under 1 year of age or those who weigh less than 20 pounds to ride on rear-facing seats. The law requires children 1-3 years and those weighing 20 pounds or more to ride on a forward-facing seat. Children ages 4-8 years … Read more

Tennessee Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitations in Tennessee

Statute of Limitations TN- Summary Tennessee’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Tennessee Recording Laws

Tennessee Recording Law Summary: Is Tennessee a One Party Consent State? Tennessee recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Tennessee, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share use communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one person taking … Read more