Ohio Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage in Ohio is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail, a maximum fine of $500, and license suspension. In addition, if the victim dies or suffers a serious injury, any driver who flees the scene is guilty of a felony. Quick take: Leaving … Read more

Ohio Sexting Laws

Ohio does not have a specific statute addressing teen sexting. That is problematic in that teens accused of creating and disseminating nudes may face felony child pornography charges. Prosecutors may also pursue child endangerment charges, pandering, solicitation/enticing a minor, or any other charge that applies. Quick take: Sending and receiving sexually explicit images depicting a … Read more

Ohio Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws of Ohio

A Summary of Ohio Whistleblower Laws Ohio is an employment-at-will state. This means employees can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, there are a few exceptions to this doctrine that are used to protect employees from wrongful retaliation. These exceptions include common law protections and statutory protections. Statutory protections are … Read more

Ohio Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of Ohio

Everything you need to know about Ohio child support laws, updated for 2020. According to the state’s Office of Child Support services, if you are a parent and your former partner refuses to pay. You should contact the CSEA for assistance. But what about the paying parent? What protections, rights, or tools can you use … Read more

Ohio Lemon Law

Lemon Laws as they apply to the state of Ohio

Ohio Lemon Laws – Summary Ohio’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 3 valid attempts for the same nonconformity, 8 attempts for different nonconformities and 1 repair attempt for life-threatening nonconformities, by the … Read more

Ohio Car Seat Laws

Child Car Seat Laws as they pertain to the state of Ohio

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Ohio The law in Ohio requires infants and toddlers to ride on a child safety seat until they are 4 years old and weigh 40 pounds. Children should ride on rear-facing seats until the age of 2. Children who have outgrown rear-facing seats are required to ride … Read more

Ohio Statute of Limitations

A stylized image of New York with the words Statute of Limitations overlaid

Statute of Limitations OH- Summary Ohio’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Ohio Recording Laws

Ohio Recording Law Summary: Is Ohio a One Party Consent State? Ohio recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Ohio, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one person taking part … Read more