Ohio Hit and Run Laws: What happens if someone leaves the scene of an accident?
- Ohio Hit and Run Laws: What happens if someone leaves the scene of an accident?
- Ohio hit and run laws explained: What happens if you leave the scene of an accident?
- Is leaving the scene of an accident a misdemeanor in Ohio?
- Is leaving the scene of an accident a felony in Ohio?
- What is the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident?
- How is fault determined in Ohio?
- What is the statute of limitations on hit and runs in Ohio?
- Leaving the scene of an accident in Ohio defenses
Leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage in Ohio is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail, a maximum fine of $500, and license suspension. In addition, if the victim dies or suffers a serious injury, any driver who flees the scene is guilty of a felony.
Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident in Ohio
- Ohio is a “fault state,” hence the at-fault party compensates the victim.
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving serious injury or death is a felony.
- In Ohio, a reportable accident refers to any collision that results in death, injury, or property damage surpassing $1000.
- If you knowingly leave the scene of an accident involving injury or death, you qualify for enhanced punishment.
Ohio hit and run laws explained: What happens if you leave the scene of an accident?
Under Ohio statute section 4549.02, “stopping after an accident on public roadway or highway.” If you know about your involvement in a traffic collision, leaving the scene without fulfilling the requirements below is a misdemeanor or felony. That means the resulting damage and what you do immediately after hitting a person or property determine the crime.
Consequently, the easiest way to avoid criminal charges after your involvement in an accident is to remain at the scene. If you leave and come back without good reason, you are guilty of a hit and run.
What to do after an accident in Ohio
State law requires you to do the following.
- Immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident. If the vehicle endangers other drivers and the accident did not result in death or serious injury, you may move it to a safe location near the scene.
- Give your name, address, and vehicle registration number to anyone injured in the collision or the operator, occupant, or person attending to the struck vehicle.
- If the struck person is unable to receive your information, you must give the information to a police officer at the scene.
- If the accident results in death, do not move the vehicle if not instructed by emergency workers or law enforcement.
What happens if you leave the scene of an accident without fulfilling the requirements above?
If you do not have a valid reason for leaving the scene, you are guilty of a hit and run. Remember, prosecutors need only to prove that you were the one driving the vehicle, the vehicle was involved in a traffic collision, the traffic collision was the cause of injury, death, or property damage, and you escaped the scene to avoid prosecution.
To avoid hit and run charges in Ohio, what you must do after an accident is:
- Remain at the scene until law enforcement tells you to leave.
- Do not threaten or harm the other party involved.
- Render reasonable assistance to anyone who needs it.
- Exchange insurance information.
- Do not admit fault.
- Report the accident within 24 hours.
Also, evading the police may add to the charges. So, if you leave the scene, make sure that you have a good reason.
Is leaving the scene of an accident a misdemeanor in Ohio?
Yes. If you fail to stop at the scene of an accident involving property damage in Ohio, you are guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree. A Misdemeanor of the First Degree in Ohio is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $1000.
What happens if you hit an unattended vehicle in Ohio?
If you strike an unattended vehicle in Ohio, section 3 of Ohio Hit and Run laws states, quote:
“If the accident or collision is with an unoccupied or unattended motor vehicle, the operator who collides with the motor vehicle shall securely attach the information required to be given in this section, to a conspicuous place in or on the unoccupied or unattended motor vehicle.”
Suppose you leave the scene without locating the struck vehicle or property owner or without leaving your contact information, address, and vehicle registration. You are guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree.
Note that under section 2921.331. Evading the police is a misdemeanor of the first degree.
What is a reportable accident in Ohio?
Section 4519.46 defines reportable accidents in Ohio as, quote:
“The operator of a snowmobile, off-highway motorcycle, or all-purpose vehicle involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to or death of any person, or damage to the property of any person above one hundred dollars, shall report the accident within forty-eight hours to the state highway patrol, the sheriff of the county within which the accident occurred, or the chief of police.”
In short, if the accident results in death, injury, or property damage above $1000, you must notify the police.
Remember, your insurer may deny you compensation if you do not file a police report.
Ohio’s “Hit and Skip” laws
In Ohio, your knowledge of your involvement in a Collision escalates the charges. What that means is. After an accident, if you know that someone has suffered injury or death, and you knowingly leave the scene, you qualify for enhanced punishment. For example, leaving the scene of an accident involving serious injury or death is a felony of the fourth degree. But, if you knew that someone died because of the collision and you leave the scene, the charges escalate into a felony of the second degree.
If you had a motive or were under the influence of drugs or alcohol – The charges may escalate into vehicular manslaughter or vehicular homicide if the victim dies.
Is leaving the scene of an accident a felony in Ohio?
Yes. Failure to stop after an accident involving serious physical harm to a person is a felony of the fifth degree in Ohio. If you knew that someone suffered serious injury or bodily harm, leaving the scene escalates the crime into a felony of the fourth degree.
Vehicular manslaughter and vehicular homicide
If anyone dies after a traffic collision, leaving the scene is a third-degree felony. However, if you knew that the traffic collision resulted in death and chose to leave the scene, you are guilty of a felony of the second degree.
What is the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident?
Upon conviction, state law requires that, quote:
“In all cases, the court, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, shall impose upon the offender a class five suspension of the offender’s driver’s license, commercial driver’s license, temporary instruction permit, probationary license, or nonresident operating privilege from the range specified in the division.”
Note that the court cannot suspend the license suspension for the first six months.
The penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in Ohio is:
- Hit and run involving property damage: misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $1000.
- Hit and run, unattended vehicle: misdemeanor of the first degree.
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving injury: fifth-degree felony, punishable by up to 12 months in prison and a maximum fine of $2500.
- Knowingly leaving the scene of an accident involving serious injury: fourth-degree felony, punishable by a minimum of 6 months in prison and a maximum of 18 months plus a $5000 fine.
- Hit and run involving death: third-degree felony, punishable by up to 36 months in prison, a $10000, and up to three years of post-release control.
- Vehicular manslaughter: Second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail and license suspension for up to three years. The court may also order a fine and post-release control.
Leaving the scene of an accident in Ohio: Administrative and civil penalties
If you suffer injury or property damage because of a hit and run, you may take civil action against the driver responsible.
Depending on the facts, the court may impose punitive damages upon conviction.
The victim may use a lawsuit to recover lost wages, hospital bills, and other damages. We recommend consulting with a lawyer. To increase the odds of a successful lawsuit, experts recommend:
- Never admit fault at the scene of an accident.
- Make sure that you file a police report.
- Seek medical attention before commenting about your health.
- Document everything at the scene and gather evidence, including the fleeing driver’s description, car make, colour, license plates, and anything else that may be useful to the police.
- Call your insurer.
- Save dashcam footage.
How is fault determined in Ohio?
Ohio is a “fault state.” If you are responsible for an accident, you must compensate anyone who suffers an injury, property damage, or death. Also, state law requires you to show financial responsibility for any accident you may cause by posting collateral, having liability car insurance, or purchasing a bond.
After an accident, you may file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurer.
What is the statute of limitations on hit and runs in Ohio?
The statute of limitations for personal injury in Ohio is two years, starting from the date of the incident. You also have two years to file a wrongful death claim starting from the date of death.
For property damage, you have four years to file a claim.
Leaving the scene of an accident in Ohio defenses
The facts presented will determine a suitable defense. For example, if the other party threatened you. In your defense. You may claim that you feared for your safety.
That is why it is vital to consult with an attorney immediately. If you left the scene, make sure that you report the accident within 24 hours.
Other Ohio Laws