Murder Sentencing Guidelines – Minimum to Maximum for Every State

Skip to State by State Overview of Murder Sentences The minimum and maxiumum sentence for murder varies depending on the jurisdiction and the specific degree or classification of the murder charge. In the United States, for example, minimum sentences can differ significantly among states and even within different degrees of murder (e.g., first-degree, second-degree, and … Read more

Vermont Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident in Vermont without fulfilling statutory obligations may result in felony or misdemeanor charges. In addition, the penalty could be anywhere from two to fifteen years in prison. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident in Vermont You have 72 hours to report a reportable accident. You must report … Read more

Vermont Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of Vermont

Vermont child support laws say that it is state policy that, quote, “children of separated parents must get as much financial support as they would if the parents never split”. Traditionally your support obligation ends when the child turns 18.  However, between now and then, your financial life may change in plenty of ways.  So … Read more

Vermont Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitations Laws as they apply to the state of Vermont

Statute of Limitations VT- Summary Vermont’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Vermont Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower laws as they apply to the state of Vermont

A Summary of Vermont Whistleblower Laws Vermont is an employment-at-will state. This means employees can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, there are a few exceptions to this doctrine that are used to protect employees from wrongful retaliation. These exceptions include common law protections and statutory protections. Statutory protections are … Read more

Vermont Lemon Law

Lemon laws as they apply to the state of Vermont

Summary of Vermont Lemon Law Vermont’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 3 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty … Read more

Vermont Car Seat Laws

Child Car Seat Laws as they apply to the state of Vermont

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Vermont Vermont law requires all children younger than 1 year and those who weigh less than 20 pounds to ride on a federally approved rear-facing seat. Children can graduate to forward-facing seats once they outgrow the weight and height limits of their rear-facing seats. Children can ride … Read more

Vermont Recording Laws

Vermont recording law

Vermont Recording Law Summary: Is Vermont a One Party Consent State? Vermont law does not contain any provisions regarding the legality of recording or sharing any kind of audio-based conversations.  This means that Vermont is considered a one-party consent state. However, the state Supreme Court has determined that it is a criminal offense to covertly … Read more