Minnesota Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident in Minnesota is a felony if the accident results in death or serious injury under section 169.09 (collisions/Minnesota hit and run laws). The penalty for the said crime is up to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $5000 for a first offense. Quick take: Leaving … Read more

Minnesota Sexting Laws

Specific laws in Minnesota related to sexting do not exist (yet). Persons accused of sending inappropriate texts, pictures, or videos face prosecution under the states harsh child pornography laws Quick take: Teens tried as adults for child pornography violations and adults convicted of child pornography possession or distribution must register as sex offenders. The punishment … Read more

Minnesota Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws as they apply to the state of Minnesota

A Summary of Minnesota Whistleblower Laws Minnesota is an employment-at-will state. This means employees can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, at-will employees in Minnesota can seek protection through the state’s statutory protections and common law protections. Statutory protections are laws that are enacted by the state’s legislature to cover … Read more

Minnesota Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of Minnesota

Everything you need to know about Minnesota child support laws, updated for 2020. Minnesota Child Support Guidelines dictate the court’s actions when dividing parental obligation or awarding alimony. You might expect the law to be clear, but the truth is the state utilizes complex calculations when awarding child support. That means it is vital that … Read more

Minnesota Statute of Limitations

A stylized image of the state of minnesota with the words Statute of Limitations written on it

Statute of Limitations MN- Summary Minnesota’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Minnesota Recording Laws

Minnesota Recording Law Summary: Is Minnesota a One Party Consent State? Minnesota recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Minnesota, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record, obtain, share or use communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one person … Read more