Mississippi Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident in Mississippi without fulfilling legal requirements under MS. Code section 63-3-204 is a misdemeanor if no one suffers injury or death. If the former or latter happens, you could be guilty of a felony. Quick take: leaving the scene of an accident in Mississippi Mississippi is a fault state … Read more

Mississippi Sexting Laws

In Mississippi, teens accused of sexting face prosecution under the state’s revenge porn and child pornography laws. That may mean mandatory registration into the sex offender registry. (keep reading) Quick take: Mississippi sexting laws do not yet exist (we will update you when that changes). Teens accused of felony offences face prosecution under the state’s … Read more

Mississippi Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws as they apply to the state of Mississippi

A Summary of Mississippi Whistleblower Laws The state of Mississippi is an employment-at-will state. This means employers can dismiss their employees for any reason or no reason. However, employees in Mississippi can still seek protection under the state’s common law protections, statutory protections, federal laws, or employment contract. Common law protections are laws that are … Read more

Mississippi Child Support Laws

Child support laws as they apply to the state of Mississippi

Everything you need to know about Mississippi child support laws, updated for 2020. Mississippi child support laws state that upkeep is awarded voluntarily or via court order. What does this mean for soon to be divorced parents or kids from a broken marriage or partnership? Primarily what that statement points at is that parents in … Read more

Mississippi Car Seat Laws

A summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Mississippi

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Mississippi Children younger than 4 years should be restrained with the appropriate child restraint device. Children should ride rear-facing until they are at least 2 years old. Forward-facing car seats can be used by children who have exceeded the rear-facing limits. Mississippi law requires children 4 years … Read more

Mississippi Statute of Limitations

A stylized image of Mississippi with the words statute of limitations written on it

Statute of Limitations MS- Summary Mississippi’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Mississippi Recording Laws

Mississippi Recording Law Summary: Is Mississippi a One Party Consent State? Mississippi recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Mississippi, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record, obtain, share or use communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one person … Read more