South Carolina Hit and Run Laws

What is the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in South Carolina? Under South Carolina hit and run laws, leaving the scene of an accident without fulfilling the requirements under section 56-5-1230 is a felony if anyone suffers death or injury and a misdemeanor if the collision results in property damage. Quick take: … Read more

South Carolina Sexting Laws

South Carolina laws/statutes specifically related to sexting do not exist; that is bad news for sexting teenagers in that they potentially risk prosecution under harsh obscenity and child pornography statutes. Quick take: Teens above 14/adjudicated delinquent may face trial in adult court. Teens convicted of obscenity or sexual exploitation of a minor must register as … Read more

South Carolina Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws that apply to the state of South Carolina

A Summary of South Carolina Whistleblower Laws South Carolina is an employment-at-will state. This means employees can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, there are a few exceptions to this doctrine that are used to protect employees from wrongful retaliation. These exceptions include common law protections and statutory protections. Statutory … Read more

South Carolina Child Support Laws

Everything you need to know about South Carolina child support laws, updated for 2020. South Carolina child support laws, according to the DSS, aim to create a system where children can count on their parents for the emotional and financial support necessary for a healthy and successful life. South Carolina child support laws, according to … Read more

South Carolina Lemon Law

Lemon Laws as they apply to the state of South Carolina

South Carolina Lemon Law South Carolina’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 3 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty … Read more

South Carolina Car Seat Laws

Car Seat Laws as they apply to the state of South Carolina

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in South Carolina The law in South Carolina requires all infants under age 2 to be secured in a rear-facing seat. All children 2 years or older or those under 2 years who have outgrown rear-facing seats should be secured in a forward-facing seat. The law requires children … Read more

South Carolina Statute of Limitations

SC statute of limitations

Statute of Limitations SC- Summary South Carolina’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of … Read more

South Carolina Recording Laws

South Carolina Recording Law Summary: Is South Carolina a One Party Consent State? South Carolina recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In South Carolina, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share use communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at … Read more