Murder Sentencing Guidelines – Minimum to Maximum for Every State

Skip to State by State Overview of Murder Sentences The minimum and maxiumum sentence for murder varies depending on the jurisdiction and the specific degree or classification of the murder charge. In the United States, for example, minimum sentences can differ significantly among states and even within different degrees of murder (e.g., first-degree, second-degree, and … Read more

Michigan Hit and Run Laws

Under section 257.617, Michigan hit and run laws, leaving the scene of an accident without fulfilling what the law requires of you is a criminal offense punishable by up to five years in prison and license suspension or revocation. Quick take: Michigan hit and run laws Leaving the scene of an accident that results in … Read more

Michigan Sexting Laws

Michigan does not have specific laws regarding sexting, instead teens and adults face prosecution under federal law, child pornography, and related statutes. Quick take: Anyone convicted of a felony offense must register as a sex offender. Child pornography possession, distribution and creation are all felony offences. The punishment for juvenile offenders (petty offenses) includes, probation, … Read more

Michigan Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws as they apply to the state of Michigan

A Summary of Whistleblower Laws in Michigan Michigan follows the employment-at-will doctrine. This means employers can discharge their employees for any reason or no reason. However, the state of Michigan has put in place exceptions to this doctrine in order to protect employees from unlawful retaliation. They include common law protections and statutory protections. Common … Read more

Michigan Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of Michigan

Everything you need to know about Michigan child support laws, updated for 2020. Michigan child support laws, in theory, are supposed to help families become or remain self-sufficient via state collaboration with parents. However, if you are a parent in the state, you have questions like, how is child support determined? What can I do … Read more

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Michigan Car Seat Laws a Summary

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Michigan Infants should ride on rear-facing seats until they are at least 2 years old. Children 2 years or older or those who have exceeded the rear-facing weight and height limits should ride on forward-facing seats. The state law requires children who have outgrown the forward-facing seat … Read more

Michigan Statute of Limitations

A stylized image of Michigan with the words Statute of Limitations written

Statute of Limitations MI- Summary Michigan’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Michigan Recording Laws*

Michigan Recording Laws: Michigan recording law stipulates that it is a two-party consent state*. In Michigan, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record, obtain, use or share communications, whether they’re wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of all contributing parties. This means that in Michigan you are not legally allowed … Read more