Maine Hit and Run Laws

Under Maine hit and run laws, section 2252 and 2253, leaving the scene of an accident is punishable by a maximum fine of $5000 and license suspension for up to 90 days. Note: What you do before and after an accident determines if the crime is a misdemeanor or felony. Quick take: Maine hit and … Read more

Maine Sexting Laws

Maine Sexting Laws

Maine does not have specific laws OR protections in place related to sexting. This does not necessarily mean that all sexting is legal, it means that there are no state-mandated protections for teens that sext. Teens may face harsher federal punishments and adults may also face felony charges for the creation/distribution of child porn. Quick … Read more

Maine Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws as they apply to the state of Maine

A Summary of Maine Whistleblower Laws Employees in Maine can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason under what is known as the employment-at-will doctrine. However, Maine’s legislature has put in place several statutory protections that are used as an exception to this doctrine in order to protect employees from wrongful discharges … Read more

Maine Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws in the state of Maine

Everything you need to know about Maine child support laws, updated for 2020. Maine child support guidelines require parents in the state to support their minors “to the extent they are able to”. What does this mean for you, your child, and your former partner? Are there protections or limits on child support in the … Read more

Maine Car Seat Laws

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Maine A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Maine Children 2 years and under are required to ride on rear-facing seats. The law requires children who are older than 2 years and weigh less than 55 pounds to ride on forward-facing seats. Children under the age … Read more

Maine Statute of Limitations

A stylized image of the state of Maine with the words Statute of Limitations written on it

Statute of Limitations ME- Summary Maine’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Maine Recording Laws

Maine Recording Laws

Maine Recording Law Summary: Is Maine a One Party Consent State? Maine recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Maine, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record, obtain, use or share communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one person … Read more