Utah Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident without fulfilling statutory obligations is a misdemeanor in Utah. If the accident involves death or serious injury, the fleeing driver is guilty of a felony. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident Do not admit fault at the scene of an accident. Remain at the scene until law … Read more

Utah Sexting Laws

Under house bill 71, Utah’s sexting law, it is unlawful to distribute harmful material to a minor or pornography. Depending on the person’s age, sending or receiving the sexts sexting can be a misdemeanor or felony. Quick take: Sexting is a class A misdemeanor if the actor is below 16 and a class B misdemeanor … Read more

Utah Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws as they apply to the state of Utah

Utah child support laws, according to the Utah Department of Human Services, serve to “promote independence through responsible parenthood and to ensure public funds are used appropriately.” These laws also aim to reduce the amount used in running public assistance programs. For parents receiving or paying child support, the words above have very little meaning … Read more

Utah Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitations Laws as they apply to the state of Utah

Statute of Limitations UT- Summary Utah’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Utah Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower laws as they apply to the state of Utah

A Summary of Utah Whistleblower Laws Utah is an employment-at-will state. This means employees can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason. However, there are a few exceptions to this doctrine that are used to protect employees from wrongful retaliation. These exceptions include common law protections and statutory protections. Statutory protections are … Read more

Utah Lemon Law

Lemon laws as they apply to the state of Utah

Summary of Utah Lemon Law Utah’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 4 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty … Read more

Utah Car Seat Laws

Child Car Seat Laws in Utah

Best Practices for Child Car Seats in Utah Utah’s car seat law requires children younger than 8 years to ride on child restraint devices. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends children should ride on rear-facing seats for a minimum of 2 years. Children can graduate to forward-facing seats once they outgrow the rear-facing seat’s weight … Read more

Utah Recording Laws

Utah Recording Law Summary: Is Utah a One Party Consent State? Utah recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Utah, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share use communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one person taking … Read more