Summary of Utah Lemon Law
Utah’s lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 4 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty vehicle. This law applies to the vehicle throughout its express warranty period, and if the vehicle is still under its warranty period and meets the eligibility criteria as specified by Utah’s state laws, the owner of the vehicle can claim their lemon aid and demand the manufacturers to provide them with the necessary reimbursement, in the form of a refund or replacement of the faulty vehicle through arbitration. The repurchase costs will also cover any additional costs the owner underwent while purchasing the vehicle.
Lemon Eligibility in Utah
In Utah, it is required that the vehicle be a motor-powered vehicle which has the main purpose of transporting passengers through highways. It should be no more than one year old. The law also sees motorcycles and the chassis part of RVs to be eligible. Furthermore, the lemon law does not cover vehicles with gross weights over 12k lbs. The said vehicle must have also been driven for no more than 7,500 miles.
Nonconforming Conditions of Lemon Law in Utah
To qualify for a lemon aid, the eligible vehicle must have a defect that does not result from the consumer’s own neglect or abuse. That defect must also have a significant effect on the vehicle’s value, safety, or operation. Thus, the manufacturer will not be liable under the lemon law for simple problems such as rattling windows.
Utah Lemon Law Repairs
The consumer may file for a lemon law if the manufacturer failed to fix the problem after 4 valid attempts. The problem should persist even after then. Another option is to file if the vehicle has been out of service for a cumulative of 30 days minimum. This, however, can be extended if a natural disaster occurs which affects the manufacturer’s capacity to repair or return the vehicle.
Lemon Law Compensation in Utah
The consumer can be granted a refund equal to the value which they have paid to buy the vehicle and the repair costs incurred. A reasonable mileage allowance will be deducted from the final value. Furthermore, the consumer can be given a replacement vehicle instead.
If an informal dispute settlement procedure has taken place, then the consumer is no longer eligible for a lemon aid.
Utah Lemon Law on Used Vehicles
Utah’s lemon law explicitly states that only brand new vehicles are eligible for a lemon aid. Thus, used vehicles are not covered. This is even if the vehicle has travelled for less than 7,500 miles.
Other Utah Laws