Murder Sentencing Guidelines – Minimum to Maximum for Every State

Skip to State by State Overview of Murder Sentences The minimum and maxiumum sentence for murder varies depending on the jurisdiction and the specific degree or classification of the murder charge. In the United States, for example, minimum sentences can differ significantly among states and even within different degrees of murder (e.g., first-degree, second-degree, and … Read more

Massachusetts Hit and Run Laws

Under Massachusetts hit and run laws section 24, leaving the scene of an accident without exchanging contact information or rendering reasonable assistance to anyone that needs it is a misdemeanor or felony. What you do before and after the accident determines the crime. Quick take: Massachusetts hit and run laws A hit-and-run that results in … Read more

Massachusetts Sexting Laws

Massachusetts Sexting Laws

There are no sexting laws in Massachusetts. Because of that -teens accused of sexting or rather -creating, possessing, or transmitting sexually explicit media may face felony child pornography charges. Below is why. Quick take: Massachusetts law allows sexting between consenting adults. Child pornography, solicitation, and related charges apply if there is exchange of content depicting … Read more

Massachusetts Whistleblower Laws

Whistleblower Laws as they apply to the state of Massachusetts

A Summary of Massachusetts Whistleblower Laws Employees in the state of Massachusetts can be discharged from work for any reason or no reason under the employment-at-will doctrine. However, the state also has statutory and common law protections that are used to protect employees who have suffered unlawful retaliation. Statutory protections are laws that are enacted … Read more

Massachusetts Child Support Laws

Child Support Laws in the state of Massachusetts

Everything you need to know about Massachusetts child support laws, updated for 2020. Massachusetts Child Support Guidelines require parents in the state to provide support and maintenance until a child turns 18. After divorce or separation, kids from the relationship bind ‘warring’ parents for at least 18 years. Within the 18 years, laws aimed at … Read more

Massachusetts Car Seat Laws

Massachusetts child car seat laws

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in Massachusetts The state, on its official website, recommends infants should ride on rear-facing seats until they are 1 year old. Children 1-3 years should ride on forward-facing seats once they have exceeded the manufacturer’s limits for rear-facing seats. Massachusetts car seat law requires children younger than 8 … Read more

Massachusetts Statute of Limitations

A stylized image of Massachussets with the words statute of limitations written on it

Statute of Limitations MA- Summary Massachusetts’ statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations … Read more

Massachusetts Recording Laws

Massachusetts Recording Law Summary: Massachusetts recording law stipulates that it is a two-party consent state. In Massachusetts, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record and/or disseminate communications, whether they’re wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of all contributing parties. Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 272, § 99(C). This means that in … Read more