Select Page

Wyoming Car Seat Laws

A Summary of Child Car Seat Laws in WyomingChild Car Seat Laws as they apply to the state of Wyoming

  • Wyoming requires all children under 9 years to be secured in a child safety restraint system that is installed in the rear seat.
  • Best Practices
    • Children should ride rear-facing for a minimum of 2 years.
    • Children can graduate to forward-facing seats once they outgrow their rear-facing seats.
    • Children can transition to booster seats once they outgrow the forward-facing seat’s limits.
    • Children should ride in the back seat until age 13.

Wyoming car seat law

Wyoming requires all children under 9 years to be secured in a child safety restraint system that is installed in the rear seat. The state does not mention the specific age, weight, and height requirements for the different types of seats.

Rear-facing Car Seat Laws in Wyoming

Wyoming requires that children under the age of 9 be secured in a child safety restraint system installed in the back seat, they do not have any laws currently dictating when a child should be secured in a rear facing seat.

Best Practices by the AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics) say children should ride rear-facing for as long as possible. Preferably for a minimum of 2 years or until the manufacturer’s weight and height requirements have been exceeded. The rear-facing position offers the best protection to children. When a frontal collision occurs, children can be thrown forward, and when they get caught by the harness, a lot of stress is exerted on the child’s neck and spine. This can result in severe injuries or even death. A rear-facing seat protects the child by absorbing the impact forces and by holding the child in place in the event of an accident. Typically, newborns usually start by riding on infant-only seats until they are at least 1 year old. They then switch to convertible seats, which allow them to remain rear-facing for a longer period (up to age 4) due to their higher weight limit (up to 40 pounds). Rear-facing seats should be tightly installed according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Forward-Facing Car Seat Laws in Wyoming

Wyoming requires that children under the age of 9 be secured in a child safety restraint system installed in the back seat, they do not have any laws currently dictating when a child should be secured in a rear facing seat.

Best Practices dictate that a child can graduate to forward-facing seats once they outgrow their rear-facing seats. This typically happens between the ages of 2-4 years. There are various types of forward-facing seats. The most common include convertible seats, combination seats, and forward-facing seats. Parents with convertible seats can turn their seats to face forward once the child has met the forward-facing requirements. A good forward-facing seat should be equipped with a 5-point harness. The harness straps should be fastened over the child’s strong shoulders and hips. This helps in spreading the crash forces across the stronger body parts and protecting the rest of the child’s fragile body in the event of an accident. The retainer clip should be positioned at the same level as the armpit so that the straps can remain snug at the shoulders. Forward-facing seats can be installed with a latch system, lap-only belt, or with a lap-shoulder belt. Most seats can support children of up to 65 pounds. This means children can safely ride on them until age 7.

Booster Seat Regulations in Wyoming

Wyoming does not have any laws on booster seats other than that a child must remain in a child restraint system until the age of 9 (in the back seat).

Best practices dictate that children can transition to booster seats once they outgrow the forward-facing seat’s limits. A minimum of 40 pounds is recommended before a child can ride on a booster seat. Booster seats are used to raise a child so that regular seatbelts can fit properly. The design of the booster seat guides the lap belt across the upper thighs and the shoulder belt across the center of the chest area. Booster seats come in two sizes: high-back and backless booster seats. A high back booster seat is equipped with head support and has a back that can hold a child in place, especially when he or she is napping. Backless booster seats can only be used when headrests are available. Booster seats should only be fastened with lap-shoulder belts. Never use a lap-only belt. Since the law requires children under 9 years to be restrained on a child safety seat, this means children can legally graduate to safety belts when they reach age 9. However, a height of 4’9” is required to fit in safety belts, so it’s best to wait until your child achieves this height. Also, a child who is tall enough for safety belts should be able to sit all the way back against the seat with knees bent at the edge of the seat without slouching.

Requirements for children to use the front seat in Wyoming

The state requires all child restraint devices to be installed in the back seat if one is available. The Wyoming Department of Highway Safety recommends keeping children in the back seat until age 13. If you must ride with a child in the front seat, make sure the passenger-side airbag is turned off or disabled.

Law on leaving a child in a car in Wyoming

There is no law regarding leaving children unattended inside vehicles. We do not recommend that you leave your child unattended in a vehicle for any length of time.

Law on Smoking in a car with a child in Wyoming

No law covers smoking in a car with child passengers. It is not recommended to smoke in a vehicle with a child present.

Car Seat Law Exemptions in Wyoming

Children with a signed statement from a physician indicating that the child’s medical or physical condition makes it unsuitable to use a child restraint device are exempted from complying with the state’s car seat laws. Also exempted are children who are getting aid or assistance from their parents or guardian.

Law on Car Seat Replacement in Wyoming

There is no law regarding the replacement of car seats. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says car seats should be replaced after a moderate or severe accident. Car seats should also be replaced after they are past their expiry date.

More Wyoming Laws

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *