Wyoming Statute of Limitations

Statute of Limitations WY- Summary Statute of Limitations as they apply to the state of Wyoming

Wyoming’s statute of limitations establishes a deadline before which civil cases – such as lawsuits – must be filed in the state. In relation to criminal charges, it also prevents prosecutors from charging an individual with a crime after a specified period of time has passed. The statutes of limitations for different civil actions and crimes can vary from state to state, so read on for more information about how they apply in Wyoming. 

Wyoming Civil Statute of Limitations

Wyoming’s civil statute of limitations can range from 1 year to 5 years, depending on the nature of the case. The statute of limitation for injury to person, fraud, injury to personal property and trespass is 4 years, while disputes concerning written contracts carry a 10-year limit and those concerning oral contracts carry a 8-year limit. The date of discovery of an incident or date an offense is committed is usually when time starts counting down.

Be aware that if you fail to file your civil claim before the established deadline, the opposing party can use the statute of limitations in their defense and file a motion to dismiss the case on the basis that the time allotted to file it has already passed. Any legal claim will be lost forever once your case is dismissed. 

A summary of civil statutes of limitations in Wyoming:

Injury to Person4 yrs. §1-3-105(a)(v), (B)
Libel/Slander1 yr. §1-3-105(a)(v)(A)
Fraud4 yrs. §1-3-105(a)(iv)(D)
Injury to Personal Property4 yrs. §1-3-105(a)(iv)(B)
Professional MalpracticeNot specified.
Trespass4 yrs. §1-3-105(a)(iv)(A)
Collection of RentsNot specified.
ContractsWritten: 10 yrs. §1-3-105(a)(i); Oral: 8 yrs. §1-3-105(a)(ii)(A)
Collection of Debt on Account5 yrs. §1-3-105(a)(iii)
Judgments5 yrs. foreign judgment §1-3-105(a)(iii)

State laws related to filing lawsuits can change often. While our goal is to provide the most current information available, please consider contacting a Wyoming attorney or doing legal research of your own to verify the state law(s) you’re researching. 

Wyoming Criminal Statute of Limitations

Wyoming does not have any limit for felonies and misdemeanors.

A summary of criminal statutes of limitation in Wyoming:

FeloniesNo limit.
MisdemeanorsNo limit.
Acts During Which Statute Does Not RunNot specified.

State laws are always subject to change. While our goal is to provide the most current information available, please consider contacting a Wyoming attorney or doing legal research of your own to verify the state law(s) you’re researching. 

More Wyoming Laws

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *