Wyoming Recording Law Summary:
Is Wyoming a One Party Consent State?
Wyoming recording law stipulates that it is a one-party consent state. In Wyoming, it is a criminal offense to use any device to record or share use communications, whether they are wire, oral or electronic, without the consent of at least one person taking part in the communication. This means that in Wyoming, you are legally allowed to record a conversation if you are a contributor, or with prior consent from one of the involved parties, barring any criminal intentions. Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 7-3-702 (2012).
Our recommended Digital Voice Recorder.
You may not record or share conversations that you are not a part of without the consent of at least one party.
However, Wyoming law does make an exception in cases where the person or people communicating are doing so in an environment where they should not be under the expectation of privacy. Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 7-3-701.
If you are a third-party and require consent from the parties taking part in the conversation, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) states that you may gain consent to make a recording by:
- Getting verbal or written consent prior to the recording being made.
- A verbal notification being played before the conversation begins. (For example: “This phone call is being recorded for quality control purposes…”).
- An audible beep tone being repeated at steady intervals during the duration of the conversation.
Wyoming Video Recording Laws
It is a crime of voyeurism to secretly look into an enclosed area and knowingly capture image by means of a camera, video camera or any other imaging device of another person who is in a place where he or she has a reasonable expectation of privacy. Such enclosed areas include restrooms, baths, showers, dressing rooms or fitting rooms, etc. Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 6‐4‐304(a), (b)(i)
It is also illegal to use a camera, video camera or any other image recording device for the purpose of observing, viewing, photographing, filming or videotaping another person under the clothing being worn by that person without that person’s consent. Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 6‐4‐304(b)(ii)
Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 7-3-702: Recording a conversation in violation of Wyoming law is considered a felony.
Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 6‐4‐304(b): Violating Wyoming’s video recording laws is a felony punishable by imprisonment not exceeding 2 years or a fine not exceeding $5000, or both.