Summary of Texas Lemon Law
Texas’ lemon laws state that if the buyer or lessee of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which the manufacturers are unable to fix even after 4 valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty vehicle. This law applies to the vehicle throughout its express warranty period, and if the vehicle is still under its warranty period and meets the eligibility criteria as specified by Texas’ state laws, the owner of the vehicle can claim their lemon aid and demand the manufacturers to provide them with the necessary reimbursement, in the form of a refund or replacement of the faulty vehicle through arbitration. The repurchase costs will also cover any additional costs the owner underwent while purchasing the vehicle.
Texas Lemon Law Time Limit and Eligibility
Eligibility of lemon aid in Texas requires that the complaint be filed within 6 months following the expiration of the express warranty term, 24 months following purchase, or usage of 24,000 miles, whichever comes first. Most vehicles are covered by the law. Those vehicles not covered are non-travel trailers, boats, and farm equipment. Also, all vehicles that have been repossessed will not be eligible for a lemon aid even if they belong to groups of vehicles that do meet the criteria.
Nonconforming Conditions of Lemon Law in Texas
A vehicle’s defect can invoke the lemon law only if the said defect significantly decreases the value, operation, or safety of the vehicle. Thus, simple problems such as rattling windows will not warrant a lemon law liability. That defect must also not be a result of the owner’s own neglect or abuse. An unauthorized modification may also deny a lemon aid.
Texas Lemon Law Repairs
Before filing for a lemon aid, the defect must persist even after the manufacturer has made at least 4 valid repair attempts within the first 24 months starting from purchase, or within 24,000 miles of usage, whichever comes first. But for defects that affect the vehicle’s safety or operation, then the manufacturer only needs at least 2 valid repair attempts.
A vehicle that has been out of service for repairs for a cumulative of 30 days within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles shall also invoke the lemon law. However, the 30-day period can be extended if a natural disaster affects a manufacturer’s capacity to fix or deliver the vehicle.
Lemon Law Compensation in Texas
The lemon law allows three options for Texas residents to be compensated for their damaged product. For those with new vehicles, they could choose between a refund of purchasing registration fees, and taxes; or a replacement vehicle of equal value. They, along with those who bought used vehicles, could also opt to have their repair and alternate transport costs reimbursed and have the manufacturer finish fixing the vehicle instead.
Texas Lemon Law on Used Vehicles
Texas lemon law also covers used cars. However, the date for the end of the eligibility period will not change, and will still depend on the date on which the first owner had bought the vehicle. Owners of used vehicles are also only entitled to being reimbursed of their repair and alternative transport costs until the manufacturer had successfully finished fixing their broken vehicles.
Other Texas Laws