Texas Hit and Run Laws

In Texas, you are guilty of a class B misdemeanor if you leave the scene of an accident involving property damage above $200. If the accident involves death or serious injury, you are guilty of a third-degree felony if you leave the scene without fulfilling statutory obligations. Quick take: Leaving the scene of an accident … Read more

Vital Records Explained: Is ‘Cause of Death’ public record?

Vital records explained? Are death certificates public record? It depends on state law (See the table below). For example, in Alaska, death certificates become public records 50 years after the date of death. Also, death certificates are exempt from FOIA (Freedom of Information Act).  The question is; how do you find out the cause of … Read more

What does a criminal fine mean and who paid the largest criminal fine in US history?

Also known as “mulct,” a fine is a monetary penalty that a court imposes as punishment for committing a crime. In the US, Pfizer paid the largest criminal and civil fine in pharmaceutical industry. The company paid a total of $2.3 billion in fines. Quick take: what does a criminal fine mean? Willful failure to … Read more

New York Hit and Run Laws

Under title 6 section 600, New York Hit and Run laws, leaving the scene of an accident without reporting, or exchanging information with the struck person is a felony or misdemeanor. The amount of damage done determines the charges. Quick take: leaving the scene of an accident in New York You must call the police … Read more

New Mexico Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident in New Mexico may result in felony charges if anyone suffers death or injury. Apart from time in prison. The court may also suspend or revoke your driving privileges. Quick take: leaving the scene of an accident in New Mexico A DUI hit and run resulting in death is … Read more

Types of Evidence in Law: How many types of evidence are there?

There are two basic categories of evidence (1) direct evidence (2) circumstantial evidence. The former relies on witness perceptions and the latter on circumstantial evidence such as DNA. Depending on the laws in your country, you may break down these two categories into at least seven different types of evidence as explained below. Quick take: … Read more

How to Charge Someone With Trespassing

If someone enters your property without permission, you may ask them to leave, call the police, and if the person poses an immediate threat to you or your family, you have the right to protect yourself, family, and property -even if it means using lethal force in some castle doctrine states including California. Quick take: … Read more

Manslaughter Laws Explained: What is the difference between first, second, and third degree manslaughter?

You are guilty of manslaughter in the first degree if you intentionally cause the death of another “in the heat of passion” provoked by the action or words. Manslaughter in the second degree occurs when you create an unreasonable risk, and consciously take chances of causing death or great bodily injury to another. ‘Third-degree manslaughter/involuntary … Read more

Mississippi Hit and Run Laws

Leaving the scene of an accident in Mississippi without fulfilling legal requirements under MS. Code section 63-3-204 is a misdemeanor if no one suffers injury or death. If the former or latter happens, you could be guilty of a felony. Quick take: leaving the scene of an accident in Mississippi Mississippi is a fault state … Read more

Michigan Hit and Run Laws

Under section 257.617, Michigan hit and run laws, leaving the scene of an accident without fulfilling what the law requires of you is a criminal offense punishable by up to five years in prison and license suspension or revocation. Quick take: Michigan hit and run laws Leaving the scene of an accident that results in … Read more