Alabama Lemon Law

Alabama Lemon Law A Summary

Alabama’s lemon laws state that if the buyer of a vehicle finds a major fault in it – which is labeled as non – conformable after four valid attempts by the vehicle manufacturer to repair it – the manufacturer is liable to repurchase or replace the faulty vehicle. This law applies to the vehicle throughout its warranty period, and if the vehicle is still under its warranty period and meets the eligibility criteria as specified by Alabama’s state laws, the owner of the vehicle can claim their arbitrary aid and request an arbiter to look into the matter and provide them with the necessary reimbursement, in the form of a refund or replacement of the faulty vehicle. The repurchase costs will also cover any additional costs the owner underwent while purchasing the vehicle. This law, however, is not active in case of leased vehicles, as the primary focus of this law are vehicles which are meant to be used on highways.

Alabama Lemon Law Eligibility

To be eligible for a lemon aid, the vehicle’s intended use must be for highways, and it should either be new or previously utilised, but it must remain under the manufacturer’s warranty period. The law is inactive for motorhomes as well as leased vehicles, or other vehicles which weigh over 5 tonnes. The period until which the vehicle remains under the lemon law coverage period is either 12,000 miles on it’s odometer, or a year until its delivery. 

Nonconforming Conditions of Lemon Law in Alabama

Alabama has a set of guidelines for which vehicles fit its idea of ‘nonconforming conditions’. The vehicle must be impaired to a degree where the damage done to it renders it as unusable and of significantly less value, while also being a threat to the owners safety. This damage must also have been done to the vehicle when it is being used normally, and must not occur as a result of the owner’s neglect or abuse to the vehicle, or any modifications done to it without the involvement or knowledge of the manufacturer. The laws are also applicable to a vehicle which has been brought to its nonconforming state due to an accident. Prior to filing for a lemon, the vehicle needs to have at least three attempts at repairing the fault by the manufacturer. If the manufacturer fails to restore the vehicle to its original state within these three attempts, the owner may then seek for arbitrary aid. 

Alabama Lemon Law Repairs

Alabama’s lemon laws encourage the dispute to be settled informally by the vehicle owner and the manufacturer, i.e. through arbitration, by giving the manufacturers considerable attempts to repair the vehicle. The owner must firstly submit a mail to the manufacturer regarding the vehicle’s nonconforming conditions and allow them to have three reasonable attempts at repairing it. The manufacturer must respond to the owner’s complaint within 7 days, after which the vehicle’s faults need to be solved within 14 days of the vehicle’s delivery by the owner. If the fault remains unresolved, or if the car remains out of service for over 30 consecutive or nonconsecutive days, the owner then may file for an arbitrary aid.

Alabama Lemon Law Arbitration

In the case being opened by an arbiter, citizens of Alabama are free to have an attorney represent them at the court, and the attorney’s fees will be paid by the manufacturer. The manufacturer may then be given an additional attempt to repair the fault. If still unsuccessful, the owner may then either choose to have the vehicle repurchased, or get refunded for it. If the vehicle is repurchased, the amount paid to the owner should be equal to the amount paid by them whilst purchasing it, including any additional costs such as vehicle towing, which the customer was charged for by the manufacturer. A replaced vehicle should be comparable to the vehicle initially purchased by the customer.

Does the Alabama Lemon Law Cover Used Vehicles?

The Alabama Lemon Law covers used vehicles, but only if the break down happens within the first year of the customers possession OR under 12,000 miles of use, whichever happens first. Unfortunately for used vehicle owners the typical used vehicle is sold after these conditions have passed, so the Lemon Law isn’t much use for used vehicles.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *